Saint Basil’s Cathedral, Moscow

IMG_20140917_110222I’ve been to Moscow only once

I stayed at a hotel at the Red Square. Every time I walked out of the hotel, St Basil’s Cathedral was the first thing I saw. Every time I took out my camera and photographed it, so back home again I had photo after photo of the cathedral, all taken from the same angle, all more and less identical and all black- and white! I had taken the wrong reel! So this photo is not mine! It was taken by David Castor.

St Basil’s Cathedral was built in 1551 – 1561 on orders from Ivan the Terrible. It’s been said that the architect’s eyes were gorged out after completion, so that he would never be able to create anything as beautiful again. This is a myth; the architect did construct other works later on.

 The church is today a museum.

Leave a Reply

