van Gogh – The shoes

IMG_20140920_023848This man breaks my heart! 

From a letter to his brother, Theo:

“It’s a rather sad prospect to have to say to myself that the paintings I do will perhaps never have any value.”

“What am I in the eyes of most people – a nonentity, an eccentric, or an unpleasant person – somebody who has no position in society and never will have, in short the lowest of the low. All right then – even if that were absolutely true, then I should one day like to show by my work what such an eccentric, such a nobody, has in his heart.”

This painting from 1888 is on display in Metropolitan Museum of Arts, New York.

One thought on “van Gogh – The shoes

Leave a Reply

