London sightseeing

IMG_20150118_132850 I did miss the swinging London in the 60’s

 

The first time I went to England was in 1973. My friend and I had grand plans to hitchhike around the country. (You could still do it rather safely in those days, at least if there were two of you. I do wonder how it is today?) But it rained, and it rained…

After a few days of standing at the roadside in pouring rain we gave up and went back to London for some serious sightseeing.

 

 

I also acquired a lifelong partiality for

 

Anybody recognize this song? It’s a poem from Milne’s (author of Winnie the Pooh) book: When we were very young.  The British tenor Webster Booth sings “Changing guard at Buckingham Palace”:

Leave a Reply

